More Recent Comments

Thursday, April 02, 2009

Monday's Molecule #115: Winners

UPDATE: The molecule is indigotin or indigo dye [2,2’-Bis(2,3-dihydro-3- oxoindolyliden)]. The Nobel Laureate is Johann Friedrich Wilhelm Adolf von Baeyer.

This week's only winner is Alex Ling from the University of Toronto.

The winners this week are Pete Horwich from Dalhousie University and Devin Trudeau from the University of Toronto.

Identify this molecule and explain why it is useful. You must supply the common name and the formal IUPAC name.

I'm looking for the Nobel Laureate whose name is associated with this molecule.

The first person to identify the molecule and the Nobel Laureate wins a free lunch at the Faculty Club. Previous winners are ineligible for one month from the time they first won the prize.

There are seven ineligible candidates for this week's reward: Maria Altshuler of the University of Toronto, David Schuller of Cornell University, Adam Santoro of the University of Toronto, Dima Klenchin from the university of Wisconsin, Alex Ling from the University of Toronto, Bill Chaney of the University of Nebraska, and Elvis Cela from the University of Toronto.

Dima and Bill have donated their free lunch to a deserving undergraduate so I'm going to continue to award an additional free lunch to the first undergraduate student who can accept it. Please indicate in your email message whether you are an undergraduate and whether you can make it for lunch.


Nobel Laureates
Send your guess to Sandwalk (sandwalk (at) and I'll pick the first email message that correctly identifies the molecule and names the Nobel Laureate(s). Note that I'm not going to repeat Nobel Prizes so you might want to check the list of previous Sandwalk postings by clicking on the link in the theme box.

Correct responses will be posted tomorrow. I reserve the right to select multiple winners if several people get it right.

Comments will be blocked for 24 hours. Comments are now open.

1 comment :